The Santa Ana Sentinel

Manuel M. Ponce and the Mexican Art Song: Cuiden su vida and Por ti mujer

Posted in Art Music, Arts & Culture, The Journal of Mexican Art Music by Omar Ávalos Gallegos on May 21, 2010

Two of Manuel M. Ponce’s art songs, Cuiden su vida and Por ti mujer were performed on Friday May 12th, 2010 at Santa Ana College by José Eduardo Hernández, a vocal student of the Applied Music program.

These two songs are very rarely heard, as they are not regularly performed in vocal recitals. A recording titled Semblanza de un compositor with soprano Alicia Torres Garza that is available on iTunes contains these two songs.

Here is a translation of one of these songs

Cuiden su vida (Of Me, Don’t Worry)

Translation by Omar Ávalos Gallegos

Llevo en le alma embriagadora
Mi dulce mezcla de pena y placer
Si bebo vino es por esa mujer
Nada les importa
Cuiden su vida
Dejen la mia padecer

Cuanto te quiero
Bien de mi vida
Cuanto he sufrido sin poderte ver
Si bebo vino es por ti, o mujer
Nada les importa
Cuiden su vida
Dejen la mia padecer

¿De qué se admiran, de un hombre enamorado?
¿De qué se admiran, de que beba vino?
Si bebo vino es por esa mujer
Nada les importa
Cuiden su vida
Dejen la mia padecer

Translation:

I carry in my tormented soul
A bittersweet mix of pleasure and pain
If I drink wine it’s because of her
What does it matter?
Of me, don’t worry
Just let my life pass away

Oh how I love you
Light of my life
Oh how I’ve suffered without seeing you
If I drink wine it’s because of that love
What does it matter?
Of me, don’t worry
Just let my life pass away

What is so strange of a man in love?
What is so strange if I drink of sorrow?
If I drink wine it’s because of that love
What does it matter?
Of me, don’t worry
Just let my life pass away

Por ti mujer (Because of You)

Por ti mujer, herida tengo el alma
Por ti mujer, me muero de sufrir
No seas cruel, devuélveme la calma
Si he de morir sin verte, mejor morir

Por ti mujer, herida tengo el alma
Por ti mujer, me muero de sufrir
No seas cruel, devuélveme la calma
Si he de morir sin verte, mejor morir

Cuanto he sufrido sin hallar consuelo
Cuanto he llorado tan lejos de ti
No seas cruel, devuélveme la calma
Si he de morir sin verte, mejor morir.

Translation:

Because of you, my soul is hurting so
Because of you, I die of suffering
Do not be cruel, and give me piece of mind
If I should be without you, I’d rather die.

Oh how I’ve suffered, without consolation
How I’ve lamented, being far from you
Do not be cruel, and give me piece of mind
If I should be without you, I’d rather die.

Translation by Omar Ávalos Gallegos

Comments Off on Manuel M. Ponce and the Mexican Art Song: Cuiden su vida and Por ti mujer

