The Santa Ana Sentinel

Never Cry Foul

Posted in Opinion by Omar Ávalos Gallegos on July 21, 2010

In our times the words gentrification and capitalism have been twisted to have negative connotations. The downtown needs to be revamped. I’ve been in Santa Ana all of my life and have seen the downtown go from a more economically depressed area to its current improved state, and it has a ways to go. I remember when there was no Grand Central Art Center, no Orange County Center for Contemporary Art, no Gypsy Den, no Memphis, no night life, etc etc. I don’t know why people cry foul and gentrification when it is more than obvious that the downtown needs renovation, along with new businesses and franchises. I’ve always told local people to turn to business and get a piece of the downtown while there is opportunity.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] Opinion: Never Cry Foul […]


Comments are closed.

